08/01/24 - The Journal of Music - RTÉ Announces Choice Music Prize Album of the Year Shortlist

The shortlist for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Album of the Year for 2023 has been announced today (8 January).

The ten selected albums cover the genres of indie, pop, rock, folk and rap and include Chaos For the Party by Fontaines D.C. singer Grian ChattenCrazymad, for Me by last year’s winner, CMAT; Dublin folk singer John Francis Flynn’s second album Look Over The Wall, See The Sky; and Dream Big by indie band Soda Blonde.

Also on the shortlist is rapper Kojaque’s PHANTOM OF THE AFTERS; Big Dreams by singer songwriter Rachael Lavelle; post-punk band The Murder Capital’s Gigi’s RecoveryMind Yourself by alt-folk band The Scratch; Lankum’s False Lankum; and Supernumeraries by Cork singer-songwriter Ezra Williams.

The winning act will receive €10,000 – provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). 

The shortlists for the Irish Artist of the Year, Irish Breakthrough Artist, Irish Song of the Year 2023 and Classic Irish Album will be announced from tomorrow (9 January) until Friday (12 January). The awards ceremony will take place at Vicar Street on 7 March and will feature performances from some of the nominated artists.

Previous winners of the award include CMAT’s If My Wife New I’d Be Dead in 2022, For Those I Love in 2021, Denise Chaila’s Go Bravely in 2020 and Lankum’s The Livelong Day in 2019.

A panel of eleven judges from the Irish music media selected the shortlisted albums and will choose the overall winner on the night. The judges include Robert Brown (Chordblossom), Beta da Silva (RTÉ 2fm), Kate Demolder (freelance journalist), Saibh Downes (RTÉ Entertainment), Louise Duffy (RTÉ Radio 1), John Loftus (8Radio), Siobhan McAndrew (BBC Radio Ulster), Alannah McGhee (Other Voices), Dylan Murphy (District magazine), Eimear Shannon (Today FM) and Ava Somers (Beat 102).

See the full list of nominees below. For further information, visit www.choicemusicprize.ie.

RTÉ Choice Music Prize Album of the Year Shortlist
Grian Chatten – Chaos For The Fly (Partisan Records)
CMAT – Crazymad, For Me (CMATBABY/AWAL)
John Francis Flynn – Look Over The Wall, See The Sky (River Lea Recordings)
Kojaque – PHANTOM OF THE AFTERS (Soft Boy Records)
Lankum – False Lankum (Rough Trade Records)
Rachael Lavelle – Big Dreams (Rest Energy)
Soda Blonde – Dream Big (Overbite Records)
The Murder Capital – Gigi’s Recovery  (Human Season Records)
The Scratch – Mind Yourself (Perrystown Music Limited)
Ezra Williams – Supernumeraries (Ezra Williams / AWAL)

Back to blog